Tarot Card Order

Tarot Card Order

When I carry out a reading I always (depending on the situation) put my tarot cards into numerical order at the beginning, I have this handy little list below if you scroll down you can quickly use this as a reference point to get your cards back in order.

I have also included the Roman numerals for ease of simplification. The Rider-Waite, B.O.T.A and Marseilles base use the Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn members and they are attentive to the symbolism and orders of the Esoteric Science mystical themes. Anyway, here is the list.

Tarot Card Numerical Order 

Major Arcana Order

  1. The Fool (0)
  2. The Magician (I)
  3. The High Priestess (II)
  4. The Empress (III)
  5. The Emperor (IV)
  6. The Hierophant (V)
  7. The Lovers (VI)
  8. The Chariot (VII)
  9. Strength (VIII)
  10. The Hermit (IX)
  11. Wheel of Fortune (X)
  12. Justice (XI)
  13. The Hanged Man (XII)
  14. Death (XII)
  15. Temperance (XIV)
  16. The Devil (XV)
  17. The Tower (XVI)
  18. The Star (XVII)
  19. The Moon (XVIII)
  20. The Sun (XIX)
  21. Judgment (XX)
  22. The World (XXI)

Suit of Wands Order

  1. Ace of Wands (I)
  2. Two of Wands (II)
  3. Three of Wands (III)
  4. Four of Wands (IV)
  5. Five of Wands (V)
  6. Six of Wands (VI)
  7. Seven of Wands (VII)
  8. Eight of Wands (VIII)
  9. Nine of Wands (IX)
  10. Ten of Wands (X)
  11. Page of Wands (XI)
  12. Knight of Wands (XII)
  13. Queen of Wands (X)
  14. King of Wands (XIV)

Suit of Cups Order

  1. Ace of Cups (I)
  2. Two of Cups (II)
  3. Three of Cups (III)
  4. Four of Cups (IV)
  5. Five of Cups (V)
  6. Six of Cups (VI)
  7. Seven of Cups (VII)
  8. Eight of Cups (VIII)
  9. Nine of Cups (IX)
  10. Ten of Cups (X)
  11. Page of Cups (XI)
  12. Knight of Cups (XII)
  13. Queen of Cups (X)
  14. King of Cups (XIV)

Suit of Swords Order

  1. Ace of Swords
  2. Ace of Swords (I)
  3. Two of Swords (II)
  4. Three of Swords (III)
  5. Four of Swords (IV)
  6. Five of Swords (V)
  7. Six of Swords (VI)
  8. Seven of Swords (VII)
  9. Eight of Swords (VIII)
  10. Nine of Swords (IX)
  11. Ten of Swords (X)
  12. Page of Swords (XI)
  13. Knight of Swords (XII)
  14. Queen of Swords (X)
  15. King of Swords (XIV)

Suit of Pentacles Order

  1. Ace of Pentacles (I)
  2. Two of Pentacles (II)
  3. Three of Pentacles (III)
  4. Four of Pentacles (IV)
  5. Five of Pentacles (V)
  6. Six of Pentacles (VI)
  7. Seven of Pentacles (VII)
  8. Eight of Pentacles (VIII)
  9. Nine of Pentacles (IX)
  10. Ten of Pentacles (X)
  11. Page of Pentacles (XI)
  12. Knight of Pentacles (XII)
  13. Queen of Pentacles (X)
  14. King of Pentacles (XIV)